Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on google
Share on linkedin

Check Out What’s Happening in August!

AUGUST

We are in the last month of summer! We love to hear how organizations are using, adapting, and growing their own Living Room Conversations.

Recently, Piedmont Community Church has been hosting Living Room Conversations. We have a new video available for you to watch leaders in their community discuss how Living Room Conversations are strengthening faith communities and bridging ideological divides!

Remember, letting us know about conversations in your communities, at work, or even just with friends helps Living Room Conversations support you, gain knowledge about our resources, and secure funding.

Upcoming Events & Trainings

First, a big congratulations to our first Host Certification cohort graduating at the end of the month!

As always, join or start a conversation on Junto, to participate in a conversation using one of the Living Room Conversation guides.

CALL FOR ART
We are excited to introduce new images on our merchandise and want our Living Room Conversations Community to be a part of it! You are all at the heart of this work and we wanted you to be the first to know that we are doing our first-ever call for art submissions! We’ll use the art to put on t-shirts and other merchandise in conjunction with our Fall Fundraising Appeal and will proudly highlight and reward our artist-winners. The theme is respect.relate.connect which appears on each one of our conversation guides.

So get those creative juices flowing and be on the lookout for more details coming soon!

Tuesday, August 10th
5:00pm PST/ 7:00pm CST/ 8:00pm EST
This is training only for those in the Host Certification program
Hosting Best PracticesWednesday, August 11th
AllSides Talks – Sign up below!Tuesday, August 18th
9:00am PST/ 11:00am CST/ 12:00pm EST
How to Host a Conversation About Race

AllSides Talks

Have you ever wanted to co-host a Living Room Conversation with someone that has a different political perspective but didn’t know who to ask?  AllSides Talks is an opportunity to meet someone that just might be your future co-host.  Or just a fun way to meet someone new with differing views from anywhere in the country and have a good conversation about Trust!

AllSides Talks™ brings people together for a day of political dialogue. 

On Wednesday, August 11th, 2021, Americans from the left and right will meet for one hour for one-on-one conversations to discuss trust in our society. Click here to sign up.

Teamwork makes the dream work!

Living Room Conversations is currently looking for talent to fill impactful roles.

Volunteer – Our volunteer applications are currently OPEN! Now is your chance to use your talents and skills to help Living Room Conversations grow and continue to touch lives. Here are a few specific volunteer positions we are looking to fill. To apply please fill out a volunteer application!

  • Grant Research Team – 1-2 hours per week for 2-3 months includes periodic zoom call check-ins
  • Social Media Manager – schedule posts using Hootsuite (mostly posts about upcoming conversations and events)
  • Media Relations – Write, send and follow up on pitches to media

Racial Equity Partner – Our ideal candidate is a self-motivated person with passion and experience in racial justice advocacy who enjoys public speaking, and is comfortable talking and teaching about race and ethnicity. To read more click here.

This is a remote position for 10 hours/week at $25/hour. To apply please send a resume and cover letter to brialle@livingroomconversations.org.